Animal Resources Program

The primary objective of the Animal Resource program is to facilitate the use of animals in research and teaching at Georgia State University while assuring compliance with all applicable regulations. The Animal Resources program maintains responsibilities in animal procurement, animal housing and daily care, the provision of veterinary care, health surveillance and preventative care, assisting investigators and their staff with animal procedures, and the care, maintenance and replacement of relevant equipment and facilities.

For all animal-related IACUC policies and procedures, please see the IACUC webpages.

Dr. Michael Hart
Director of Animal Resources, University Veterinarian
Phone: (404) 413-3553
Email: mhart@gsu.edu
Veterinary preventative and medical care, protocol veterinary consultations
Dr. Amelia Wilkes
Clinical Lab Animal Veterinarian
Phone: (404) 413-3636
Email: awilkes5@gsu.edu
Veterinary preventative and medical care, protocol veterinary consultations
Dean Blake
Associate Director of Animal Resources
Phone: (404) 413-3554
Email: dblake@gsu.edu
Day-to-day operation of the animal facilities, supervision of downtown animal care staff
John Kelley
Assistant Director Animal Resources
Phone: (404) 667-8083
Email: jwkelley@gsu.edu
Day-to-day operation of the Language Research Center Facility, supervision of LRC animal care staff (LRC)
Michael Morrison
Animal Facility Supervisor
Phone: (404) 413-3183
Email: ehutto3@gsu.edu
Supervision of downtown animal care staff
Evan Hutto
Animal Facility Supervisor
Phone: (404) 413-3184
Email: mmorrison8@gsu.edu
Supervision of downtown animal care staff
Matthew Davis
Assistant to the Director
Phone: (404) 667-3560
Email: mdavis1978@gsu.edu
Administrative services and back-up veterinary technical services
Courtnye Billingsley
Animal Healthcare Technician
Phone: (404) 413-3594
Email: cbillingsley2@gsu.edu
Veterinary technical services
Joi Scott
Animal Healthcare Technician
Phone: (404) 908-4933
Email: jscott72@gsu.edu
Veterinary technical services