Environmental Programs Advisory Committee (EPAC)

I. Members

Name Department Address Contact Information
Sidney Crow
Chair
Biology Georgia State University
P.O. Box 4010
Atlanta, GA 30302-4010
scrow@gsu.edu
404-413-5325
Michael Black Neuroscience seawater@gsu.edu
404-413-5081
Kathy Grant Chemistry Georgia State University
P.O. Box 3965
Atlanta, Georgia 30302-3965
kbgrant@gsu.edu
404-413-5522
Alex Lehocky BOR 270 Washington St. SW
Atlanta, GA 30334
alex.lehocky@usg.edu
404-962-3171
Abdul Momen Facilities Georgia State University
P.O. Box 3994
Atlanta, GA 30302-3994
amomen@gsu.edu
404-413-0734
Seth Rose Geosciences srose@gsu.edu
404-413-5757
Patricia Stilson Sustainability pstilson@gsu.edu
404-413-0607
Keith Sumas Security ksumas1@gsu.edu
404-413-0783
Mike ThompsonEx-officio member with vote ORI Georgia State University
P.O. Box 3999
Atlanta, GA 30302-3999
gthompson11@gsu.edu
404-413-3551

II. Purpose of Committee

Our purpose is to develop and approve policies and procedures that will guide the University in managing regulatory compliance and improve programs to protect human health and the environment. This committee will work out polices for audits and corrective action to help the University maintain compliance with regulations and operate in a responsible manner.

The policies set forth by the committee are to keep the University in compliance with local, state, and federal regulations regarding facility compliance, laboratory safety, the purchase, transportation, use, handling, storage, and disposal of all chemicals. In addition, the Committee makes recommendations and approves training programs on laboratory safety practices that will result in faculty, staff, and students having a continuing conscientious awareness of and for safe laboratory practices, chemical storage, chemical use, and chemical disposal.

III. Meeting Dates, Times and Location

The Environmental Programs Advisory Committee typically meets quarterly on the second Thursday at 12:00 P.M. beginning with lunch.

IV. Current Activities/Priorities

During the current year, EPAC has focused on the development of a campus-wide Environmental Management System (EMS). We hope to have this implemented by early 2013. The EMS will be a tool to help manage, plan, document, and track all aspects of environmental issues on campus. The EMS will be a tool that will help the University monitor our progress towards various environmental goals. It will also be a benefit as we strive to adhere to the numerous environmental regulations that affect our campus. Please contact Mike Thompson at 3-3551 if you have any questions regarding the upcoming EMS.