Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The Institutional Biosafety Committee  is responsible for advising the Vice President for Research on policies pertaining to research, teaching, and service activities that involve biological hazards, specifically hazards associated with the use of recombinant DNA (rDNA) and microbial toxins. The committee recommends standards by which biohazardous activities should be conducted, as well as review projects for compliance with local, state, and federal regulations.

All IBC applications and amendments should be sent to the Biosafety Compliance Officer, Protocol applications need to be submitted by the second Thursday of each month. The IBC meets the third Friday of each month to review all new and renewal applications. Training required for new PI’s and staff can be scheduled with the Biosafety Specialist, Monni Begum, by emailing

The IBC meets the third Friday of each month to review research protocols, assess the adequacy of current containment facilities, establish emergency response actions, and recommend appropriate sanctions for non-compliance.

IBC documents

Biohazardous Research Protocol Registration Form  IBC Protocol Amendment Application  NEW: ABSL-1 Manual 


Committee Members

Name/Position Affiliation
Richard Dix
Dept. of Biology, Arts & Sciences
Charlese Benson Dept. of Biology, Arts & Sciences
Lisa Casanova School of Public Health
Tim Denning Institute for Biomedical Sciences
Robert Finton Community Member
Markus Germann Dept. of Chemistry, Arts & Sciences
Yuan Liu Dept. of Biology, Arts & Sciences
Ming Luo Dept. of Chemistry, Arts & Sciences
James Miller Community Member
Jeffery Sheppard Community Member
Brianna Skinner Veterinarian, DAR
Anthony Sanchez, Biosafety Officer Director, Research Safety Office
Margaret Kilcullen-Steiner
Ex officio member without vote
Assistant Director, IACUC

* new member