Laboratory Safety Committee

Georgia State University supports the pursuit of research and academic excellence while promoting safety awareness in the labs. The Laboratory Safety Committee (LSC) at GSU provides guidance and administrative oversight of environmental health and safety procedures in the academic research and teaching laboratories.

The LSC develops policies and guidelines to assist in addressing hazard identification, accident prevention, and security in the laboratory to ensure the safety and welfare of all lab personnel. These policies and procedures can be found in the GSU Laboratory Safety Manual.

The Laboratory Safety Committee meets the second Friday of each month.

Committee Members

Name Affiliation
Markus Germann
Dept. of Chemistry, Arts & Sciences
Laura Carruth Neuroscience Institute, Arts & Sciences
Nikolaus Dietz Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, Arts & Sciences
Crawford Elliott Dept. of Geosciences, Arts & Sciences
Dereck Faust School of Art & Design, Arts & Sciences
Teri Morris Florman School of Nursing
John Houghton Dept. of Biology, Arts & Sciences
Jennifer McWhorter Fire Safety
Abdul Momen Facilities
Stephen Rosner Athletic Dept.
Pedro Vasquez Dept. of Chemistry, Arts & Sciences
Betsy Butler
Ex officio member with vote
Senior Biosafety Officer, Research & Environmental Safety